Porsche Mt Buller Sprint logo  Images of cars
Entry List
Event Shedule
Photo Gallery
Contact Us

Sponsors logos Kumho Gregorys dutton rally porsche Hign Country Mercure Grand Chalet Mt Buller - Live it up! Beyond Suspicion

Mountain Entry

Under 14 free

Seven-time Bathurst 1000 winner Jim Richards has taken victory in the second annual Porsche Mt Buller Sprint.

Partnered by long-term co-driver Barry Oliver, with whom he has shared seven Targa Tasmania wins, Richards finished 46 seconds ahead of last year's winner, reigning Porsche Carrera Cup champion, Alex Davison and his co-driver, Paul Flintoft.

In third place, a further 23 seconds back, were Queensland-based performance driving instructor Alistair Bye and Michael Sherrin, while fourth place went to Tony Quinn and Keith Wenn, with Kevin Weeks and Jammeil Taylor in fifth.

The Porsche Mt Buller Sprint is a special stage tarmac rally contested on the 16km Mt Buller tourist road to Mt Buller Village, in the Victorian high country, 180km NE of Melbourne. The road was closed to traffic during the competition, which was run last weekend, January 21-23 inclusive.

Richards and Oliver also set the fastest stage time on the event, posting 8m:45.50 on their fifth run on the 16km stage.

All the top five crews were driving recent model Porsches, but the top 10 included a Daytona Coupe, a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6 and two brand-new Australian built competition specials, the Skelta G-Force and the Holden-powered Elfin Clubman.

Ninety crews came from WA, NSW, Tasmania, South Australia, Queensland, Victoria and the ACT to compete in the three-day event which was run for the first time in 2004.

It all started with a 1.4km Prologue run around the streets of nearby Mansfield to determine starting positions, a spectacle which was enjoyed by more than a thousand people and equally popular with the competitors.

Similar in style to internationally famous hillclimbs such as America's Pike's Peak or New Zealand's Race To The Sky, the Porsche Mt Buller Sprint is fast gaining a reputation as one of Australia's must-do motorsport challenges.

Contrary to its name, however, the Sprint is not just open to the vehicles of its naming rights sponsor, but to all types of modern (post January-1982) and classic (pre-December 1981) cars. However cars and their crews must meet the mandatory safety and licensing regulations required by the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS), the governing body of Australian motorsport.

Provisional Results

Jim Richards/Barry Oliver 2003 Porsche GT2 53:00.83
Alex Davison/Paul Flintoft 2004 Porsche GT3 RS 53:47.08
Alistair Bye/Michael Sherrin 2004 Porsche GT3 54:10.00
Tony Quinn/Keith Wenn 2001 Porsche 996 Turbo 54:31.55
Kevin Weeks/Jammeil Taylor 2001 Porsche GT2 55:17.64
Rex Broadbent/Chris Randell 2000 Daytona Coupe 55:24.91
Ray Vandersee/John Allen 2004 Skelta G-Force 55:49.99
Jeff Beaumont/Jenny Cole 1999 Mitsubishi Evo 6 56:06.49
Simon Froude/Geoffrey Floyd 2004 Porsche GT3 56:14.95
Cam McConville/Gerry Bashford 2004 Elfin Clubman 56:21.75

For more information (and photos), please contact:

Media Manager
Liz Swanton
on 0417 232 643
or lizswanton@hotkey.net.au

Official Charity


Requirements for entering this great event

Find out what to see and where to go

Your hour by hour account of the weekend

Your guide to places to stay